configure Trash settings on Mac or Macbook
configure Trash settings on Mac or Macbook

We will explain how to make the Finder stop asking before deleting a file and different configuration options from the ‘Trash’ on your Mac.

Surely you know that when you delete a file on your Mac, you are not actually deleting it. In fact, if you click on the ‘trash’ icon and open it, you will see that it is surely full of various files that you have been deleted in the past.

To “delete” files, just drag the file you choose from your desktop to the ‘trash’. You can also right-click on the unwanted file to send it to the ‘trash’.

However, if the real reason you’re deleting a file is due to an attempt to free up some storage on your Mac, or perhaps delete something you don’t want anyone to ever see, then you should know what to move it to. the ‘trash’ will not be enough.

To make the files disappear forever you will have to delete what is in the ‘trash’. You can do it simply by right-clicking or using the control button on the same trash can icon.

When you perform that action, you always get a warning message asking you to confirm that you really want to delete that file.

It is advisable to take this message into account, since you could be permanently deleting some important file by mistake (especially if you do not have a backup).

However, it may also be the case that at some of these stages in the process of permanently deleting a file, you do not want the Finder to ask for your permission before deleting it or bother you with its warning messages.

How to download iPadOS 13.5 on your iPad

If that is your case, we have the solution, since it is possible to configure the ‘trash’ settings.

How to add the Esc key to the iPad Pro Magic Keyboard

How to Empty the ‘Trash’ on Mac Immediately

To avoid the additional step of having to accept the Mac warning message to empty the ‘trash’, you can do the following:

Hold down the ‘Option / Alt’ keys on your keyboard when you right-click the ‘Trash’.
Select the ’empty trash’ option.
In this way, the ‘trash’ will be emptied without prior notice, just as you wanted.

How to stop the Finder warning before deleting
If you prefer not to have to remember to hold down the ‘Option / Alt’ keys each time you are going to delete the contents of the trash, you can also change your settings in the ‘System Preferences’.

  1. Open a Finder window.
  2. From the menu above, select ‘Finder> Preferences’.
  3. Click on ‘Advanced’.
  4. Deactivate the ‘Show’ option before emptying the ‘Trash’.

How to delete only one file from Trash

What if you only want to delete a single file from the ‘trash’, leaving the rest of the content untouched? It is also possible to do this, to do this, follow these steps:

  1. Open the ‘trash’.
  2. Find the file you want to delete.
  3. Right-click.
  4. Select the ‘delete immediately’ option.
  5. However, you will have to confirm that you really want to delete it, even if you have disabled the warning by following the steps above.

How to erase permanently without having to go through the ‘trash’

What if you want to avoid having to go through the steps of permanently deleting a file twice instead of being able to do it directly? Luckily you can also do it:

  1. Select the file you want to delete.
  2. Press ‘Option / Alt + Command + Delete’.
  3. You will see a warning asking if you are sure you want to delete, assuming you are, click ‘Delete’.
[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here